It might be time to ditch Yahoo! Mail

Back when I was 14, I created two (2) email accounts, one of them was provided by Yahoo. It was primarily to sign up for facebook. I created another, thinking it was needed, much like how if you wanted to use certain Google services, you’d need a Gmail account and if you wanted to make use of Microsoft’ services instead, you’d need a Microsoft account.

 

Going with Yahoo was probably my first mistake when I entered the online realm. From the countless security breaches (though Yahoo and I would both like to think that I was not hacked nor affected), to the little yet important things that made it frustrating to use. I have probably been lucky enough to have had no signs of it being hacked but then again, a true hacker would probably want me to believe that as well.

 

So here goes, recently I’ve been getting some weird issues whereby my sent email would

  1. Show up as being sent but the recipient was not in receipt of it.
  2. Go missing after pressing the send button is nowhere to be found. It was not in my draft folder, outbox nor sent folder. (this happened today)
    Bummer, I just composed an email, with careful wording and pressed send, only to have it go missing. It seems others have also had the same issue over the years.
  3. Sometimes they even end up in my drafts folder despite having it sent and it’s a mess there.

    yahoo 1.png

Next was this silly thread / conversation arrangement, it seems to have a mind of its own and the annoying line separators that would go on forever till you can’t even read what was at the end of the line. Apparently this was their new design. Ever heard of the saying “if it aint broken, don’t fix it”, in our case, if it works fine don’t change it to something silly for the sake of change…

Starts off okay

starts off okay.png

Gets worse

gets worse.png

Annnd finally this crap

end.png

Worth mentioning as well are the weird errors and glitches like a sudden loss of connection prompting it to display a “no internet connection” in red and spewing meaningless error codes.

no internet connection.png

yahoo error.png

Now, I probably have to think of a way to migrate everything to a better and more stable email provider which is probably no easy task, something which I have been putting off for a long time, hoping I didn’t have to do this.

Leave a comment