Energizer PMZH21 – A Review

Disclaimer :

  1. I do not claim to know it all and thus do not wish to be held liable for anything that arises out of this “article”.
  2. I bought this unit myself for personal use (not sponsored nor affiliated).
  3. This “article” is subject to updates (if any are applicable).
  4. For the safety of others and yourself, never shine the light into other’s eyes. Keep it away from children whom may not be able to follow such instructions. The beam can impair or cause irreparable damage to eyesight due to its brightness.

Index

1. Opening

2. About the torchlight

3. Issues

4. Troubleshooting

5. Hypothesis of the cause

6. Customer service

7. Follow up

8. Closing

Opening

*The terms: “flashlight”, “torchlight” and “torch” are used interchangeably and mean the same thing.A torch which meets the specifications of a good torch, let down by a possible design flaw and customer service.

About the torchlight

The Energizer PMZH21, sports 400 lumens and a range of 115 meters (both on high mode). Powered by 2AA batteries (which are widely available), one does not need to crack their head when it comes to batteries.It operates on 3 different modes and an additional function:

  1. High mode (brightest);
  2. Low mode (dimmest) and;
  3. Strobe (SOS mode which runs on the high mode)
  4. Long pressing the “on” switch activates a mode called “Digital Focus” which from its default spot light mode transitions into flood light through a diffused lens. (This mean you get a wider, more even output of light)

Additionally, thanks to its “O-rings” it is IPX4 rated – able to withstand splashes from any direction, thus its use in rain should be fine.Note: This does not mean its waterproof and neither should it be soaked or submerged in any liquid. More on IPX ratings here: http://justelation.com/ipx-ratings-described/It also meets the ANSI / NEMA FL-1 standard which seeks to standardise flashlight or torchlight testing across the board, in hopes of reducing or preventing manufacturers from simply slapping exaggerated numbers on its specifications and its run time.More about it here: https://flashlightwiki.com/ANSI-NEMA_FL-1 The color emitted is daylight and has a neutral white temperature which means that it is not super white to the point it glares and gets uncomfortable.The torch is advertised as “designed to last 20 years” but from my testing, it only took a few days before issues started to creep up, a month plus before one would no longer switch on due to bad contacts and surviving the almost non-existent customer service*.*Seriously, they do not have a dedicated customer service department.After some pondering, I think the aircraft grade aluminium body is what’s supposedly designed to last 20 years as it falls short of its bold claim.IssuesSummary of issues:

  1. Powering off randomly
  2. Flickering
  3. Not powering on or responding to “on” switch
  4. Updated: A fall could spell the end of the torch as the head can get dented, letting dust and water seep in

Here is a short video illustrating the flickering issuehttps://youtu.be/eM_7dP4Oo9M

Troubleshooting

To troubleshoot the issue I changed a new set of batteries, which were absolutely of no help as the contacts were in my opinion problematic right of out the box. I then checked for leaks or any damage to no avail.

Hypothesis of the cause

Upon closer inspection, the part where the battery head (positive side) meets the terminal was a little slanted. Granted that it was dropped, I gave it the benefit of doubt. Regardless of the drop, it is advertised as being able to take a drop up to 1 meter (100cm) so it should not just go “kaput” like that.Pictured below: replacement and substitute torch positive contacts, out of the “box”.

 

Customer service 

I contacted support via their online page and submitted the relevant information, waited a few days and nothing happened. I then made a call and got hold of them and was told to send them an email instead as the system may have experienced some technical issue(s).Speaking to them over the phone was pleasant but writing was a different story, I assume that the feeling was mutual.To sum things up,

  1. Communication was poor, I did not know that the courier service would first come and collect the defective torch, when they would come, and their initial insistence on having me pack the item.
  2. Deadlines were not meet, I was told that it would be shipped on a Thursday and in reliance of that I waited at the location only to be told that the person in charge only passed the replacement to the receptionist on Friday itself, leaving me literally in the dark and the whole exchange process was to say the least frustrating and stressful. This also resulted in a change of address as I returned to my hometown.
  3. Energizer International support was of no help either, telling me to contact the Malaysian office (which I was already in contact and dissatisfied with).

I even went out and got another one while waiting for it to arrive.Guess who stood out in the midst of all this chaos? The receptionist cum operator who answered my calls and took the necessary action by getting my address on the spot, over the phone.A simple matter that took 13 days to sort out.

Follow up

When the replacement finally arrived, my opinion or hypothesis above was further solidified as the positive terminal was once again, slanted. It was the same case for the unit that I got while waiting. All the 3 units that I have come use, suffered the same issues as mentioned above. The only difference being the later 2 units did not die like the first which was collected by them.Feedback and the above hypothesis was also communicated, subsequently brought to the attention of the manufacturing plant, unfortunately, they have not responded to Energizer Malaysia.I then contacted Energizer and provided a link of a Youtube to better illustrate the flickering issue and am glad to say that there have been some improvements in the way my complaint was handled and this time, delivered on their promise when it came to shipping its bigger brother out for testing.Undoubtedly, it has made for a less frustrating experience when their torches are, in my opinion, defective.

Closing

Until and unless the issues above are sorted out, please keep your money or seek an alternative.

21 thoughts on “Energizer PMZH21 – A Review

  1. I wish i had read this Before I purchased one of theese. Within a month of my initial purchase i began experiencing the identicle problems with mine. I returned it to my place of purchase and got a direct replacement off thier shelves. Less than two weeks later all the same problems again appeared in the new unit. Flickering, going out unexpectedly, not turning on. The might give me another, as I dont have the reciept any more, but I don’t have hi hopes of number 3 working any better than the first two.

    Like

    1. Hi there, thank you for dropping by.

      I am sorry to hear about your similar experience with the torch. If able you should change it to a different model (preferably not by Energizer) assuming you’re in the States there’s plenty of other brands that you can try.

      As for my issues with the PMZH21, there hasn’t been a response to it yet but I am waiting for a updated version of the PMZH61 (its bigger brother, which also suffers from a flaw).

      I hope your exchange or refund goes well for you.

      Warm regards.

      Like

      1. Hello again,
        WordPress does not support image uploading as far as i know, however if its not too much to ask, kindly drop me a few pictures at my email : vincent soon(14) at yahoo.com (without the spaces, brakets and the proper @ of course. If you happen to know what size you used that would be great too. I look forward to hearing from you~

        Like

  2. wish I had read this page before i proceeded to buy one. this is the fourth one that i have had to exchange with the store-keeper. this fourth one has just died on me and I’m embarrassed to have to go back to the store-keeper again. On the light No. 3 – the storekeeper said, he was told, by the energizer people that the contact was the problem. And I encountered the same exact problems as you have highlighted above, except that I have never dropped this light at all. I am just irked that energizer will not recall this product for its “known” problem and continues to hood-wink the public. thank you for this post.

    Like

    1. Hi there Mr. Chew, thank you for dropping by. While I understand how you must feel especially after numerous replacements, I believe that it is your right to get a product that is fit for purpose and in asserting those rights there is no need to be embarrassed and do get a refund or exchange (to a different model) if possible. Till date I have not gotten any official word as to the status of my “report”.

      I agree that Energizer should have done something about it such as a recall but I have not seen them anymore in my local supermarket so something might have happened.

      You might want to look at cheaper plastic case alternatives or go big like the Energizer Tac 1000 which I should post soon, depending on where you live you should have other options that are more reliable.

      All the best~

      Like

  3. I also purchased this flashlight and had troubles right out of the box. I was especially annoyed the it would often suddenly switch off, leaving me in the dark, fumbling to locate the power switch.
    I concur with Richard Salyers’s solution. I used a small, folded up piece of aluminum foil instead of washers, but that did the trick. I believe that the problem is that the spring in the battery compartment is too weak. I could hear the batteries jiggle right from the beginning. I found that by shaking the flashlight longitudinally (front-to-back), I could make the flashlight turn off at will. I think that, because the control is electronic, even a momentary power break causes it to “crash” and reset to the off state; the loose spring makes it too easy for the base end of the battery stack to lose contact momentarily. Salyers’s washer or my foil wad increases the pressure, as Salyers said, to prevent this happening. I can now vigorously shake the flashlight and it stays on.
    I was a little worried at first about putting a piece of metal inside the barrel that might slip around and short something out, so I think Mr. Salyers’s washer is a better solution—the rigid washer couldn’t possibly dislodge. With the foil, I made sure the wad was wide enough that it couldn’t work its way along the side of the batteries and up to the positive end; it is pretty much trapped between the negative end of the battery stack and the base cap of the flashlight. It is actually not very thick though, maybe 4 layers of standard kitchen foil.
    I fiddled with it until the light passed the longitudinal shake test.
    Again, I agree that a quality product should not have such a flaw, but putting mine back into service was satisfying and I have had no other problems with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh wow, thank you! I just got an Energizer 1300 lumen – model PMZH61 – off of Amazon. It wouldn’t turn on, I figured it was defective. I tried new batteries. I tried shaking it. I tried wishing. That didn’t work. I came across this blog post, and figured I’d give it a shot. I plonked in a small folded section of aluminum foil in the tailcap, right at the base of it, a squished circle, roughly 4 layers thick. And the thing turned on! Thank you!

    Like

      1. Thats a shame to hear. Do keep me posted on the outcome if you dont mind.
        While this review was from years back, i believe they have an updated model which im still waiting to get my hands on. I should have another post if and when i get it.

        On another note:
        1. Does the head seem loose? If you can twist it, its loose.
        2. Does the washer circumference sit/fit nicely with the tailcaps raised mini washer?

        Like

Leave a comment